The state of Texas is regarded as a “fault” state. What this basically means is that the insurance company will need to determine fault prior to providing coverage. This is the opposite of “no-fault” states. In no-fault states,insurers automatically provide coverage to both parties irrespective of who is at fault. With the Texas fault system,drivers are required to carry a minimum amount of insurance as follows:
$25,000 for property damage
$60,000 per accident for bodily injury
$30,000 per person for bodily injury
This insurance coverage basically pays the other party’s medical expenses and or property damage if you are at fault. Alternatively,the other parties basic insurance will pay for your damages if they are at fault.
According to the Texas statute of limitations,you have two years in which to bring a lawsuit against the other driver when involved in a car accident. All claims against the government entity carry a shorter deadline and that’s typically between 60 to 90 days after the accident.
Even if both drivers are at fault for a car crash,either party can still file a claim and potentially receive compensation for damages. This is dictated by the modified comparative fault law that Texas abides by. This law basically states that if either party is 50% or less at fault for the collision,then compensation may be granted to either party.
One of the best ways to receive compensation after being involved in a collision is to hire the services of a competent and experienced preparing for car accident court . Your attorney will investigate the accident,and file a claim with the correct civil court. They will also prove advantageous when it comes to going up against insurance claims adjusters. Ultimately,in the event that your case has to go to trial,the right auto accident attorney will help to win your case in the courtroom.